My first cake, oh the agony!

I dream of baking a white, pristine, fluffy cake with lighter than air whipped frosting. I wanted all of my cakes to be homemade, from scratch. No boxed cake mix, and certainly no frosting from a can! Oh no. Watching the Great British Baking Show with everyday folks baking marvelous things told me I could do it.

My first cake with my new KitchenAid mixer was a total flop. A well meaning neighbor with a big sweet tooth ate some of it, and the rest was thrown out. The cake fell totally in the middle, was sticky, tough, and full of tunnels and holes. Just about every single thing that can go wrong with a cake I managed to accomplish on my maiden voyage. A lot of frosting and a pile of fruit in the concave middle of the cake did wonders to hide my shame. 😉

first cake

Stay tuned for how I found out what went wrong, how I researched fixes, and what happened when I baked my next cake. Where there is a will, there is a way. ❤

PattyCakes if I can bake a cake, so can you!  PClogo WIDE Tiny

 

Leave a comment